Handheld Laser Guide
All guides

Handheld Laser Welder: What It Welds and What to Check Before You Buy

By Stefan Florin4 min read

Research-based, not hands-on: we have not tested these machines. Some links may pay us a commission, which never changes the order or the verdict. See our editorial policy.

A handheld laser welding gun joining two stainless steel sheets with a clean seam

The short answer

A handheld laser welder is a fiber laser in a gun you hold like a TIG torch. A wire feeder and shielding gas usually come with it. Listed prices for the models we checked run from $3,499.99 to $12,499 for the main units, and the makers claim welds from about 0.5 mm up to 5 mm in steel. Those are claims. We have not tested any machine.

The main attractions, as reported by Miller Electric and by Fabricating & Metalworking, are lower heat input, less distortion and a shorter learning curve than TIG. The main drawbacks are tighter fit-up tolerance, a Class 4 laser to manage and a limit on thick joints without filler wire.

What the makers say these machines weld

MachinePricePowerMaker claim
Xlaserlab X1 Pro$3,499.99700 W0.5 to 3 mm
OMTech 1000W$3,599.991000 WCarbon steel 3 mm, aluminum 1 mm
xTool MetalFab 800W$4,699800 WUp to 4 mm
OMTech 1500W$5,499.991500 WStainless and carbon steel 4 mm, aluminum 2 mm
ArcCaptain LW1200$7,2991200 WRecommended to 0.14 in, maximum 0.20 in
Everlast RedSabre 1500$8,4991500 WSteel 4 mm, aluminum 3.5 mm

Prices as listed on each maker's page on October 4, 2026. The xTool 1200W is sold at a higher price, but xTool's own pages disagree on it, so we left it out of the table. See what a laser welder costs to own for the full picture.

Where the thickness claims run out

Fabricating & Metalworking reports that filler wire is needed "for joints requiring penetration beyond approximately 2 mm" and calls handheld laser welding "not a universal replacement for conventional welding". Take the thickness column above as the best case with the right wire, gas and settings, from the people selling the machine.

xTool cites an SGS test to ISO 15614-1 (tensile, dye penetrant and metallographic checks) for its 5 mm claim. That is more than most makers offer. It is still one test on one setup, and it does not qualify your own welds.

What a handheld laser welder is good at

  • Thin stainless and sheet metal. Miller says laser welding puts in roughly 50% of the heat of TIG or MIG on thin carbon steel, with a narrow heat-affected zone and less warping.
  • Clean appearance. Miller notes no arc-related spatter and minimal cleanup after the weld.
  • Speed on long seams. Fabricating & Metalworking reports "substantially higher travel speeds" than TIG. Miller says TIG is better suited to short welds.
  • A faster start for new operators. Fabricating & Metalworking says new operators can often produce acceptable cosmetic welds much sooner than with TIG.

Where it struggles

  • Fit-up. Both sources agree that laser welding tolerates less gap than arc processes by default. Miller says MIG is better "for joints with variable fit-up".
  • Reflective metals. For aluminum and copper we found only manufacturer data and no independent source.
  • Code and structural work. We found no independent source on handheld lasers for code welding. Ask your inspector before you assume a procedure will pass.

Ten things to check before you buy

  • Voltage and circuit. Some units take 100 to 250 V. Others need 220 to 240 V and 20 A or more.
  • Cooling. Air or water, and where the chiller sits.
  • What the box contains: wire feeder, wire, nozzles, lenses and eyewear.
  • Eyewear wavelength band. Fiber welders run near 1080 nm. See our safety guide.
  • Key switch, remote interlock and emergency stop. Class 4 products need them.
  • The FDA accession number for the model. Ask for the number, not for the word "compliant".
  • Who pays duties and return shipping.
  • Warranty length and what it excludes.
  • Where the shielding gas comes from and what a refill costs near you.
  • Whether you have a plan for fume extraction.

What we could not verify

  • Independent weld-quality data for any of these models.
  • Gas and wire consumption per hour.
  • Cooling and plug type on the xTool MetalFab, and weight and plug type on the ArcCaptain LW1200.

Ready to compare? See our best handheld laser welder shortlist.

Machines in this guide

Figures are from each maker's own page. Links go to the maker and may be affiliate links; see our disclosure.

Welder + cleaner + cutter

Xlaserlab X1 Pro

$3,499.99

Standard Kit, shown as a Fall Workshop Savings Event price

Laser
700W fiber
Cooling
Air
Maker claim
Welds 0.5 to 3 mm; cuts up to 3 mm
Warranty
1 year

The cheapest 3-in-1 here that lists a fiber laser, a wire feeder option and 100 to 250 V input. The lowest entry price also means the shortest warranty.

What we could not verify
  • The maker says it is "FDA & CE MD Approved". The FDA does not approve these products and we found no accession number.
  • Which feeder comes in which kit is not clear from the page.

Price read from the maker's page on October 4, 2026. It will have changed by the time you click.

Welder + cleaner + cutter

xTool MetalFab 800W

$4,699

800W welder. The 1200W is listed at $7,999 in the store data, but xTool's pages disagree

Laser
800W fiber (1200W also sold)
Cooling
Not stated by xTool
Maker claim
Welds up to 4 mm (800W) or 5 mm (1200W)
Warranty
12 months, longer plans sold separately

The best-documented option, with a cited third-party test of the weld and goggles listed as included. The electrical specs differ between xTool's own pages, so check them before you wire a circuit.

What we could not verify
  • xTool's pages give three different circuit requirements for the 1200W.
  • Cooling type and plug type are not stated.
  • The 1200W price differs between xTool pages. Check the live page.

Price read from the maker's page on October 4, 2026. It will have changed by the time you click.

Welder + cleaner + cutter

ArcCaptain LW1200

$7,299

Sale price against a $10,999 regular price; pre-order and early-bird terms apply

Laser
1200W fiber
Cooling
Air, no external chiller
Maker claim
Recommended up to 0.14 in (3.6 mm); maximum penetration up to 0.20 in (5 mm)
Warranty
3 years

The longest warranty of the three-in-ones and a US warehouse, at a price that is close to a 1200W xTool.

What we could not verify
  • The collection page showed "Sold Out" while the product page showed pre-order and in-stock shipping. Check availability.
  • Plug type, weight and the torch head size are not stated. It is a cart-based unit.
  • Return and tariff terms were not stated on the page.

Price read from the maker's page on October 4, 2026. It will have changed by the time you click.

Keep reading